Division of the Budget Landon State Office Building 900 SW Jackson Street, Room 504 Topeka, KS 66612



Phone: (785) 296-2436 larry.campbell@ks.gov http://budget.kansas.gov

Laura Kelly, Governor

Larry L. Campbell, Director

February 18, 2019

The Honorable Fred Patton, Chairperson House Committee on Judiciary Statehouse, Room 519-N Topeka, Kansas 66612

Dear Representative Patton:

SUBJECT: Fiscal Note for HB 2290 by House Committee on Judiciary

In accordance with KSA 75-3715a, the following fiscal note concerning HB 2290 is respectfully submitted to your committee.

HB 2290 would create the Crime Victims Compensation Division within the Office the Attorney General to administer and support the operations of the Crime Victims Compensation Board. The bill would assign certain duties to the Division that were previously assigned to the Board, including receiving applications for compensation. In addition, the bill would require the Division to investigate claims, appear in proceedings related to claims, and present evidence in opposition to or support of an award. The Office of the Attorney General would be required to establish and maintain a principal office for the Division and other necessary offices within the state, appoint employees and agents, and prescribe the duties and compensation for each employee and agent subject to appropriations. The bill would also give the Division the power to adopt rules and regulations to govern activities and would clarify that the budget for the Crime Victims Compensation Fund must cover the operations of both the Board and the Division.

The Office of the Attorney General indicates that the bill would essentially codify the way the Board and the agency currently operate under a memorandum of understanding and enactment of the bill would have no fiscal effect. The Office of Judicial Administration, the Kansas Association of Counties, and the League of Kansas Municipalities indicate that enactment of HB 2290 would have no fiscal effect.

Sincerely,

Larry L. Campbell
Director of the Budget

cc: Janie Harris, Judiciary
Jay Hall, Association of Counties
Chardae Caine, League of Municipalities
Willie Prescott, Office of the Attorney General