Find Bill
Find Your Legislator
Legislative Deadlines
RSS Feed Permanent URL -A +A
  • Kansas Dome The state legislature approved the dome in 1881 and construction began in 1885. The outer copper dome extends approximately 75 feet above the inner dome. There are 296 steps to the top of the dome. More > Kansas State Capitol Dome
  • Ad Astra "Ad Astra per Aspera," from the Latin for "To the Stars through Difficulties" is the state motto of Kansas. Richard Bergen's bronze sculpture takes its name from this motto and and reflects Kansas's American Indian heritage. More > Ad Astra
  • Kansas House of Representatives The House of Representatives is home to the state legislators who are elected every two years and was completed in the early 1880s. This was the second of the Capitol's four wings to be completed. More > Kansas Statehouse
  • Kansas Senate The Kansas Senate has 40 members elected every four years. The Senate Chamber is located in the east wing, the oldest wing of the Capitol, completed in 1873. The latest renovation was completed in 2005. More > Kansas Senate
  • Kansas State Capitol, Topeka The Kansas State Capitol was voted one of the 8 Wonders of Kansas Architecture because our forefathers had the vision and boldness to have such a magnificent structure designed. More > Kansas State capitol
  • John Steuart Curry Mural "Tragic Prelude," is Curry's interpretation of John Brown and the anti-slavery movement in Kansas Territory and he considered the murals in the State Capitol his greatest work. More > John Steuart Curry Mural

2020 Special Session

The Legislature will convene the 2020 Special Session on June 3, 2020, at 8:00 a.m. The 2020 Special Session was called pursuant to a proclamation issued by Governor Laura Kelly on May 26, 2020.

A special session occurs when the Legislature is called to convene at a time outside the regular legislative session, usually to address a particular topic or emergency. A special session may be called by the Governor or the Legislature. Article 1, Section 5 of the Constitution of the State of Kansas provides, “the governor may, on extraordinary occasions, call the legislature into special session by proclamation; and shall call the legislature into special session, upon petition by at least two-thirds of the members elected to each house.”

The 2020 Special Session is the 24th special session in Kansas history. The first was called in 1874 and the most recent were: 2005 (School finance), 2013 (“Hard 50” law), and 2016 (School finance).